If you're referring to the play when the pitcher picks up the dribbler and underhand tosses it to first, I have to agree. What was the umpire thinking? The batter/runner should have been out for failing to run in the runner's lane alone. The pitcher, in the act of fielding the ball, has an absolute right to field the ball in *fair* territory.
If you're referring to the play when the pitcher picks up the dribbler and underhand tosses it to first, I have to agree. What was the umpire thinking? The batter/runner should have been out for failing to run in the runner's lane alone. The pitcher, in the act of fielding the ball, has an absolute right to field the ball in *fair* territory.
If you're referring to the play when the pitcher picks up the dribbler and underhand tosses it to first, I have to agree. What was the umpire thinking? The batter/runner should have been out for failing to run in the runner's lane alone. The pitcher, in the act of fielding the ball, has an absolute right to field the ball in *fair* territory.
Indefensible call.
Yeah that was also my thought. He ran inside the line into fair territory. This isn't like establishing your line evading a tag or anything like that.
In fact, the runner is supposed to avoid him trying to make the play. Otherwise it's runner's interference.
Exactly.